WORK HARD. PLAY HARD: GG

cfsds

These are a few interview style questions that we put to the music artist GG about her battle with work life balance as she conquers all in an exciting and challenging industry.

Music and the arts are a big talking point right now with a move away from faceless corporate jobs towards the dream of ‘making your stamp on your industry’. But what is it really like for a young adult trying to make their way in an ever-condensing market of signers and songwriters? Read GG’s answers to find out.

How would you describe your style of music and who are some of your main inspirations?

Each song is an inspiration. I mean if I even don’t like the song itself, I can be enchanted by bass in it or how the voice is recorded. The major influences I think are the Beatles and Russian classical music. But my style is far from both. I don’t know what my style is. Maybe electro-pop? I don’t know. Today’s music is such a great mix of genres. It’s hard to classify or quantify yourself.

How would you say your past life experiences have influenced your taste in the arts and your music right now?

My past life doesn’t influence, it IS my art and my music.

How long have you been doing this for and what did you do before?

Just the same shit during my whole life. Music and screenwriting.

Can you think of any key challenges you had to overcome and how did you battle them to get to where you are?

I’ve never been a fat teenager and never had any social problems. So the greatest challenge of my upbringing was understanding that in my case the difference between who I really am and my self esteem is none.

Where or when do you find your greatest inspiration, especially for your original music videos?

In Moscow there is an underground club called “Rasputin” where you can get only by entering the secret society that runs all the country. In this club people meditate, drink vodka and participate in intercourse with Russian beers.

What is the dream?

To make the dream come true

How do you find balancing lifestyle and downtime with your music?

Fine, thanks.

What has been your favourite event you have attended this month? If not month, this year?

My first show in London at The Library PMC. It’s maybe an ordinary club for you. But I felt like I was in a space shuttle.

And finally, If you could give one piece of advice to a young spark looking to start in the music industry, what would that be?

I’m this young spark looking to start in the music industry!

Thank you so much for talking to us and telling us about your experiences. We can’t wait to hear all about what you get up to in the future, keep in touch!

Check out GG’s latest track here and follow her on Twitter and Insta:

Do you have any tips or advice on how to overcome challenges in the working world? Let us know by talking to us on Twitter!

Why not email us about featuring on the blog:

rhys.terrar@yada.events

Try the YADA Events app on the App Store or Google Play and see how you can use it for your next event management project.

www.yada.events

Leave a Reply

