Clara Bond. Work Hard – Play Hard.

These are a few interview style questions that we put to Clara Bond about her battle with work life balance as she slogs it about in the city as an upcoming musician. She’s also playing two events for yada on the 9th and 10th so check the bottom of the blog for some details and feel free to come along! Anyway, back to the interview.

Music and the arts are a big talking point right now with a move away from faceless corporate jobs towards the dream of ‘making your stamp on your industry’. But what is it really like for a young adult trying to make their way in an ever-condensing market of singers and songwriters? Read Clara’s answers to find out.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

How would you describe your style of music and who are some of your main inspirations?

My music is mostly described as Country but personally I would say that it’s pop with a country/americana influence. I’m really loving John Mayer’s ‘Continuum’ album. It’s 10 years old but it’s still so relevant and you can tell that it’s been an influence for loads of artists we know and love over the last decade. An artist called Theo Katzman is blowing my mind right now. He just released his first solo album and it’s just absolutely amazing.

How long have you been doing this for and what did you do before?

I started working in studios as a session singer when I was about 16, and was juggling that and school at the same time. I was actually working toward university at the time and one day I had the realisation that I didn’t want to spend 3+ years of my life working toward something that ultimately I didn’t even want. I wanted to focus all my efforts into the career that I have wanted since I was 6 years old.

Can you think of any key challenges you had to overcome and how did you battle them to get to where you are?

I think the battle that I’m still trying to overcome is being taken seriously as a female pop artist. Most people don’t believe that I write my own songs, which is half a compliment but half incredibly insulting. It’s been suggested that I take a song written by another songwriter and put my name on it because someone in a suit told me to do so. But there are no suits around me. I am an independent, self-managed artist and it is hard work, but I love it.

What is the dream, or where would you like to see yourself in five or ten years?

I just want to be making music all the time and overall that will always be the end goal. Of course there are some goals of every singer-songwriter that I’m no exception from. I would love to write and record an album that I am proud of and that people hopefully love too. I guess in 5 or 10 years time, I hope to have a couple of them under my belt.

How do you find balancing lifestyle and downtime with your music?

I won’t lie, that is something that I am still learning. When you are in charge of your own career, you get sort of obsessed with the growth of it. I wake up in the night and write notes in my phone because it’s all I think about. The big thing for me is making sure to take the time out to work out, see friends and walk my dog. I’m definitely getting better at it.

If you could give one piece of advice to a young spark looking to start in the music industry, what would that be?

Work hard. Work hard and stay smart. Keep yourself educated with the ever-changing music industry and above all, when making big decisions: trust your gut! I’ve had some near misses with being taken advantage of in this industry, and trusting my gut has got me out of those situations 100% of the time. Be prepared for a bit of an emotional rollercoaster, but go for it!

What has been your favourite event you have attended this month? If not month, this year?

As a band we’ve had some amazing experiences this month. I think one of my favourites was one hosted by Pixie Lott in London called EllaGuru. The quality of the musicians was really high on the night and it was such a great thing to see and to be a part of. It made me up my game. In a few weeks the band and I are playing at the Country 2 Country festival at the O2 Arena in London, so I think that will soon become my favourite memory. Unless I fall over on stage.

And finally, what do you think is the best part about being an upcoming musician right now?

The lines between the musical genres are starting to blur and it’s really exciting. Artists are starting to get really experimental with their production ideas as there really are no limitations on the kind of music you can make because the genres are so vast now.

Thanks for chatting to us Clara and we look forward to seeing you on the 9th and 10th!  If you want to come and here Clara’s amazing country pop stylings check both of the flyers below for all the details and if you want to RSVP send an email to rhys.terrar@yada.events

italian riviera event poster

wework old st facebook.png

Make sure to check out Clara here and listen to her E.P ‘Out of Towners’

Do you have any tips or advice on how to overcome challenges in the working world? Let us know by talking to us on Twitter! 

Why not email the author about featuring on the blog or getting in touch with yada Events app: rhys.terrar@yada.events

Try out the app and see how you can use it for your next event management project.

Download it on the App Store or Google Play and follow us

online:

www.yada.events

Leave a Reply

