WORK HARD. PLAY HARD: Kezia Baddiley

These are a few interview style questions that we put to Kezia Baddiley about her battle with work life balance as both a blogger and a beauty PR intern as she slogs it about in the city.

Start-up projects and internships are a big talking point right now with a move away from faceless corporate jobs towards the dream of ‘making your stamp on your industry’ in any means necessary. But what is it really like for a young adult trying to make their way in an ever-condensing market of bloggers and influencers? Read Kezia’s answers to find out.

kezia

What is your role now and what are your main responsibilities?

I’m currently an intern at a beauty PR company in London. My main responsibilities are; writing press releases for clients, liaising with journalists and bloggers to secure coverage, managing multiple social media accounts and organising online competitions. My biggest project currently is aiding a client with their re-brand and securing blog posts and e-book contracts for their website, which is pretty exciting!

How long have you been doing this for and what did you do before?

I’ve currently been doing this for two months. Before this I was at Warwick University studying English Literature, before graduating this summer. Before I got this internship I spent my days figuring out exactly what I wanted to do (no easy feat) and keeping up with my blog, Gingeybee.

Can you think of any key challenges you had to overcome and how did you battle them to get where you are?

One key challenge was definitely securing an internship in beauty PR in the first place, it’s so competitive! I was applying for everything through all the traditional channels – Linkedin, directly emailing PR companies my CV etc. However, I eventually stumbled upon this internship on, wait for it, Twitter. One night my parents were watching the Antiques Roadshow and I was so bored I made a snap decision to search on Twitter for “beauty PR intern London”. Lo and behold, this internship popped up and I applied straight away. Within a week I had started! Searching less mainstream channels for a position really worked in my favour.

Another challenge was and still is, finding time to write my blog. I work at the weekends at a restaurant back in Leicester (where I’m from) so that I can help towards my living costs whilst I’m in London. This means I’m working 7 days a week – so it’s pretty tricky finding a good chunk of time where I can come up with ideas, take photos and write my blog. I’ve managed to keep it up by not putting too much pressure on myself (I do need to rest!) and doing an hour here or there after work, to make it all more manageable. One thing that I’ll definitely be asking for for Christmas are some daylight lights, it will make taking photos so much easier when I get home from work, as it’s getting so dark so early now.

Where would you like to see yourself in five or ten years?

This is a tricky one! In five years time it would be amazing to still have my blog going, that would be such an achievement for me. I can see myself living in London, with a full time job in (hopefully) beauty PR. Dream would be to work somewhere like Liz Earle, I just adore their ethos and products!

How do you find balancing lifestyle and downtime with your job?

Balancing lifestyle and downtime at the moment isn’t very easy as I’m working significantly more than I’m relaxing! However, I know that this won’t be forever and that it will pay off in the long run. When I do get to relax now I feel like I truly make the most of it! 

If you could give one piece of advice to a young spark looking to start your career, what would it be?

I almost don’t feel qualified to give this advice as a ‘young spark’ myself! If I had to give any advice, it would be to not give up. It’s incredibly disheartening to get rejected, I applied to 20+ positions before getting this one, but if I’d have given up, I would never have got this internship. So I’d say, be strong, believe in yourself and keep going. 

What has been your favourite event you have attended this month? If not month, this year?

I think my favourite has to be an event I was invited to last Wednesday called Morning Gloryville. It was amazing – a sober dance rave which took place at the Somerset House ice rink! It was hard getting out of bed before work but so so worth it; the atmosphere was amazing and hot chocolate for breakfast is never a bad thing.

And finally, what do you think is the best part about being an upcoming, ambitious young mind right now?

I think that the best part is getting to prove yourself and show people what you’re made of. It’s exciting to surprise people with what you can really accomplish when you apply yourself.

Thank you so much for talking to us and telling us about your experiences! We can’t wait to hear all about what you get up to in the future and you have some new avid readers of http://gingeybee.com/

Don’t forget to follow Kezia on Twitter and instagram!

Do you have any tips or advice on how to overcome challenges in the working world? Let us know by talking to us on Twitter! www.twitter.com/yada_events

Why not email the author about featuring on the blog or getting in touch with yada Events app. rhys.terrar@yada.events

Try out the app and see how you can use it for your next event management project.

Download it on the App Store or Google Play and follow us

online:

www.yada.events

Leave a Reply

