WORK HARD. PLAY HARD: Jasper Wilde

These are a few interview style questions that we put to musician Jasper Wilde about his battle with work life balance as he slogs it about in the city gigging and producing as much possible.

Start-up projects and personal passions are a big talking point right now with a move away from faceless corporate jobs towards following your true passions and entering the arts. But what is it really like for a young adult trying to make their way in an ever-condensing scene of bands and musicians? Read Jasper’s answers to find out.

jasper-2

What is your role now and what are the main responsibilities for you?

I’m a 23 year old writer – producer – artist and musician

How long have you been doing this for and what did you do before?

At 18 I started to study medicine in Nice (France) as I’m french. But I didn’t really fit in so I decided to come to the UK to learn English as I knew it would be a good tool for my future. I went to a language school called BSC in London so I could learn some basics to make my way. I’ve always been passionate about music, my grandpa put me in front of the piano when I was 3 to learn some silly melodies and I sort of kept going at it through my childhood playing different instruments. So After I got my exam in English I went to a Music School in North London where I met my manager who I’ve now been working with for almost 3 years.

Can you think of any key challenges you had to overcome and how did you battle them to get to where you are?

Oh yes! It isn’t a very nice business… A lot of sharks and unpleasant people! You have to be strong and not let it affect your creativity (sometimes it’s hard). It can be very frustrating sometimes, even when you’re waiting to hear from someone, “THEY” don’t realise how it affects us. It’s not just about who sings the best or who plays the best because if it was the case a lot of POPSTARS wouldn’t be popstars… It’s more about a full package of things, of course the TALENT helps but TIMING, LUCK, MENTAL STRENGTH, BEING FEARLESS, COURAGEOUS, A BELIEF IN YOURSELF MORE THAN ANYBODY ELSE are part of being successful too.That said I’ve met some amazing people too.

What is the dream, or where would you like to see yourself in five or ten years?

I don’t really like saying: “my dream is…” because It kind of makes it unrealisable as a “dream” isn’t real. Everything is possible as long as you’re courageous and dedicate all your time to what you wanna do!  My goal right now is to play at Madison Square Garden in New York and that’s where I see myself in 5 years on stage with thousands of people who are being entertained by myself and my band alongside doing a great show!

How do you find balancing lifestyle and downtime with your job?

I exercise regularly, eat healthily. I don’t have too much spare cash to go out but I enjoy films in my time out from writing. Routine is important too – I research information in the mornings and write in the afternoon and evenings.

If you could give one piece of advice to a young spark looking to start their business, what would that be?

I guess it’s the same for everyone in all businesses if you have an idea or want to achieve something just go, believe in yourself and don’t listen to people saying “ you can’t “ or “that’s not possible” because when you want you can! Don’t forget that the reward isn’t gonna come straight away like a lot of people/media are trying to tell us everything GOOD takes time to shine!

What has been your favourite event you have attended this month? If not month, this year?

It would have to be my first Live Show at The Lexington back in May… It was the first time that my songs were exposed, played live to an audience and it felt AMAZING, watching them dance along to the songs is so rewarding. 

And finally, what do you think is the best part about being an upcoming, self-employed business owner right now?

The freedom to make your own decisions!

Thank you so much for talking to us and telling us about your experiences! You’ve been a staple of the office playlist for a longtime, and it’s not changing anytime soon!

Check out Jasper’s music here.

And make sure to follow him on twitter.

Do you have any tips or advice on how to overcome challenges in the working world? Let us know by talking to us on Twitter! www.twitter.com/yada_events

Why not email the author about featuring on the blog or getting in touch with yada Events app. rhys.terrar@yada.events

Try out the app and see how you can use it for your next event management project.

Download it on the App Store or Google Play and follow us

online:

www.yada.events

Leave a Reply

