WORK HARD. PLAY HARD: Colin Wealleans.

This week we caught up with the devastatingly handsome Colin Wealleans from The London Lightbox and asked him a few interview style questions about how he balances the daily grind with living the life of a successful twenty-something. The London Lightbox is a unique photo booth that can be hired for any type of event. With clients ranging from Chanel to Google, they really are making a stamp on their industry.

Entrepreneurship and startup projects are a big talking point right now with a move away from faceless corporate jobs towards the start-up dream of running your own company. But what is it really like for a young adult trying to make their way in an ever-condensing market of brands and influencers? Read Colin’s answers to find out.

2016-10-26
What is your role now and what are the main responsibilities for you?

As a Co-Founder and Creative Director of the company I do pretty much everything from attending events, testing hardware, marketing, finance and lead generation. When you are running your own company, especially a start-up you have to be prepared to do it all.

How long have you been doing this for and what did you do before?

We have just had our first birthday as a company which is exciting. We keep meaning to throw a company birthday party but just haven’t got around to it because we are ridiculously busy at the moment. This month, for the first time since we have started, we have actually had to turn down clients because we haven’t got the manpower or hardware to cope with the demand. This is obviously a really good thing so I can’t complain!

Before starting The London Lightbox, I was a student at Manchester Met and I had absolutely no idea about what I wanted to do. My degree was based in languages so going from learning Spanish to running your own start-up was a pretty big leap.

Can you think of any key challenges you had to overcome and how did you battle them to get to where you are?

We have grown so quickly as a company and it has been quite a shock to the system. For four years whilst I was at University I was used to doing the bare minimum however now I am burning the candle at both ends and trying to keep up, so it has taken a lot of getting used to! But, it is the best life change that could have happened. We have built up a really high profile list of clients as well which is obviously an incredible achievement but it also means that there is nowhere to hide. Everything has to be absolutely perfect and you can’t skimp on quality. This has definitely made us better as a company in the long run as we always strive for perfection and because of that we now have a great reputation.

What is the dream, or where would you like to see yourself in five or ten years?

In 5 years’ time, I would love to be on a beach in South East Asia somewhere with my boyfriend Jonny, being able to run a company remotely whilst sipping on a 50p beer. My 10-year plan isn’t too different, the only change is that by then I hope to be on my own private island, doing exactly the same thing but sipping on a £500 beer.

How do you find balancing lifestyle, time spent with friends and family, and downtime with your job?

Realistically there isn’t much of a balance at the moment as we are so busy and it is hard finding the time to sleep let alone spend time with my friends and family. However, I am a creature of habit and the balance will come eventually, I can’t wait!

If you could give one piece of advice to a young spark looking to start their business, what would that be?

Don’t let your head get in the way. My biggest drawback when I started was confidence because I didn’t believe I could do it. I was worried what people were going to say about me and that they were going to judge what I was doing because I wasn’t following a conventional career path. I’m really glad I persevered though because people absolutely love the concept and are incredibly supportive.

And finally, what do you think is the best part about being an up and coming, self-employed business bomb right now?

The best thing is about working for yourself and running your own business is that no two days are the same. My lifestyle is definitely not monotonous, absolutely anything can happen and although that can be very stressful, at the end of the day I always look back on it and think about what I have achieved in 24 hours. I feel incredibly lucky that I am able to say that as well because a lot of the population and particularly people our age can’t say that.

 

Thank you so much for talking to us Colin and telling us about your experiences! We can’t wait to hear all about what you get up to in the future, keep in touch!

Do you have any tips or advice on how to overcome challenges in the working world? Let us know by talking to us on Twitter!

Why not email the author about featuring on the blog or getting in touch with yada Events app. mehram.sumray-roots@yada.events

Try out the app and see how you can use it for your next event management project.

Download it on the App Store or Google Play and follow us online:

www.yada.events

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

